How admindelete passwords saved in Google Chrome - Delete, edit, view

In the next tutorial we will see how adminIstra passwords saved in Google Chrome. How to delete all saved passwords, how to disable your personal Google account in Chrome and how we can see saved passwords in Chrome.

Saving passwords in the browser is the simplest method of authentication when entering online stores, forums, sites for paying utility bills or other web applications where we must authenticate with username and password. Almost all browsers come with password manager integrated, and Google Chrome is no exception.

In Google Chrome we can have two basic scenarios when it comes to saved browser passwords.

How adminwe store passwords saved in Google Chrome when we have a Google account synced in the browser

Google allows us to sync all important web browsing features in Chrome. From search history, bookmarks, extensions, themes to passwords.

To we see the passwords saved in Chrome when we have a Google account synced in the browser, we go to the icon on the top right, then click on “Sync is on”.

How adminwe store passwords saved in Google Chrome
Chrome Sync

In the synchronization settings page we have the possibility to see and to adminwe delete what exactly is synced in Chrome. Or stop syncing and delete all saved passwords, bookmarks, extensions, browsing history and more.

In "Manage what you sync"We see what data is synced in Chrome.

Manage what you sync
Manage what you sync

From the list we can choose to sync all data, settings and themes, or we can choose preferentially.

Manage what you sync
Manage what you sync

On the left sidebar, at Autofill we can view passwords saved in Chrome, delete them, or change them.

Autofill Passwords
Autofill Passwords

The "PasswordsThe list of accounts with passwords (credentials) saved in Google Chrome will appear. Any changes to this password list will be made automatically on all devices where you have your Google account synced to Chrome.

Chrome Saved Passwords
Chrome Saved Passwords

With a simple click on the "eye" sign we can see the saved password, and on the menu with the three points vertically, we have the possibility to copy, to edit or to we delete a saved word.

Manage Saved Password in Chrome
Manage Saved Password in Chrome

How can we adminRegister passwords saved in Google Chrome online

If we are in the above scenario, where your Chrome browser is synced to your Google Account, site and app passwords may be adminstratified and from Google Password Manager. Just click on the arrow next to the site for which we want to change to delete the password.

Google Password Manager
Google Password Manager

Changes made to Password Manager will occur on all devices where the Google Account is synchronized.

How to delete all passwords, browsing history, bookmarks and preferences in Google Chrome

If we are in the scenario where other people have access to our computer and we do not want them to have access to our confidential data saved in Chrome, then we can stop syncing and delete absolutely all saved data belonging to our Google account. These will continue to be available both online and on other devices where we have a synced Google Account. They will only be wiped locally.

The first step is to go to the sync settings (first picture in the article), then click on "Turn off".

Stop Sync to Google Chrome
Stop Sync to Google Chrome

Check the option "Clear bookmarks, history, passwords, and more from this device", Then click" Turn off ".

Turn off sync and personalization
Turn off sync and personalization

In this way we delete absolutely all the data about our web browsing.

How adminwe store passwords saved in Google Chrome when we don't have a Google account synced in the browser

Passwords, browsing history, bookmarks, cookies and other browsing elements may be saved in Google Chrome even if it is not synced with a Google Account. The disadvantages of out-of-sync Chrome are many. You will not be able to access passwords saved in the asynchronous browser from another device, nor your browsing history, bookmarks, extensions, themes or other preferences.

When we log in to a site, we have the ability to save credentials in the browser. Web address, username and password.

Save Password in Google Chrome
Save Password in Google Chrome

Once the password is saved, it can be viewed, deleted, or edited from “Settings” → “Autofill” → “Passwords” (chrome://settings/passwords).

Saved Passwords
Saved Passwords

I don't know what it's like Windows, but on Mac, after clicking on the "eye" sign or editing the password, the system user's password must be entered. Passwords cannot be accessed without this password. A pretty good protection measure, in the scenario where someone else would come to us on the PC and in a moment of inattention could try to see the saved passwords.

Passionate about technology, I like to test and write tutorials about operating systems macOS, Linux, Windows, about WordPress, WooCommerce and configure LEMP web servers (Linux, NGINX, MySQL and PHP). I write on StealthSettings.com since 2006, and a few years later I started writing on iHowTo.Tips tutorials and news about devices in the ecosystem Apple: iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, HomePod, iMac, MacBook, AirPods and accessories.

Leave a Comment